shhhh….don’t tell Webster’s…I just made this up

31 03 2010

Ec·o·ter·i·ca  (ē-kō-tĕr’ĭ-kə)

ideas, principles, methods, objects etc. pertaining to and representing the environmental interdependent relationships between humans and their physical, social and built environments – [Early -21st century. < Greek origin ecōterikos “belonging to an environmental cycle” < ecōterō “enviro”]

When I was kicking around potential names for this blog I narrowed it down to a favorite few and ran them by a friend of mine.  I was sure she would pick one of the catchy little phrases I had come up with and voíla this blog would be christened.   Noooooo, she totally ignored my cutesy offerings and says something to the effect,   “I know you’ll come up with a brilliant word that will forever define your vision of this environmental design style and philosophy.”  Great, no pressure there.  Needless to say after that my previous ideas all sounded pretty lame.

I decided I’d start with a word that by definition encompasses everything I want to include in my blog, that being all things in our built environments of the green and sustainable variety.  The Webster’s, Oxford and New American dictionaries had no words for it, nothing, nada, big fat zero.  The phrase sustainable design is used a lot and of course green and environmentally friendly, but they just didn’t really nail it for me.  I needed a word that was broader in spirit than that, more inclusive.

Somewhere  in my stumbling all over the web in search of the Word I typed out Ecoterica, not a clue where it came from, but there it was.  A random flash of what I’d like to think was inspiration…..yeah, inspiration….and that’s what I’m sticking with.  I looked up the obvious words of which Ecoterica would of course be derived from (i say of course, but you and i both know i’m just making this up as i go!)

The origin words are esoterica and exoterica.  They are opposites, eso-terica meaning ideas, principles and information of a secret, closely held nature and exo-terica meaning of well-known or common in nature.  Ecoterica represents both of those and a third ingredient; ideas, principles, methods and objects that represent a circular or cyclical nature.  The “what goes around comes around” principle.  Environmental karmic design if your will.

So there you have it, Ecoterica defined.

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2010
Jeannie

Lookin’ good Marla!!

Leave a Reply

